Hind Utsav will give you Hindu festivals importance and celebration procedures.

Makar Sankranti 2015

1 comment :
Sankranti 2015 date, Sankranti 2015 date, Bhogi, Makara Sankranthi, Bhogi 2015, pongal in 2015, Kanuma, Kanuma 2015, Mukkanuma 2015 date, Kanuma 2015 date, Makar Sankranti, Makar Sankranti 2015, Makar Sankranti 2015 date, Makara Sankranthi 2015, Mukkanuma, Mukkanuma 2015, Sankranthi, Sankranthi 2015, Sankranti, Sankranti 2015, 2015 pongal date, pongal date 2015, Sankranthi muggulu 2015, Bhogi kanuma muggulu, 2015 Sankranti date

Makar Sankranti is celebrated on Wednesday 14th January in 2015. It is one of the few Hindu Indian festivals which are celebrated on a fixed date it varies between three days 14, 15 and 16 of January every year. Makar Sankranti is four days festival period which is dedicated to Lord Sun. The Sun stands for knowledge, spiritual light and wisdom. Sun is considered to be the king of all the planets. The rotation of God Sun from Sagittarius zodiac to Capricorn zodiac is the beginning of Sankranti festival. Sankranti is the festival of rangoli. Uttarayan Punyakalam is starts from Makar Sankranti. Uttarayan Punyakalam is most important period and many festivals will be celebrated in this period. In India, Makar Sankranti is a Major harvest Festival. All across North and West India, flying kites and feasting on rice and sweets made from sesame seeds is an integral part of the festivities.

Makara Sankranti 2015

Bhogi     : Tuesday    January 13
Sankranti : Wednesday  January 14
Kanuma    : Thursday   January 15
Mukanuma  : Friday     January 16

Procedure Of Sankranti:

On the occasion of Sankranti people woke up early and finish their regular activities and specially on Sankranti rangoli will be drawn at front of the doar or gate. They will buy a new pot and clean and cover with white cement (Sunnam), vermilon (Kumkum), Turmeric (Pasupu) and a thread with a leaf is wearied, then pour milk into the pot. The Rangoli design is drawn on the mud or Floor in front of the door. The Rangoli is decorated with various colors. In the middle of rangoli dried cow dung (pidakalu) were placed above this the pot is kepted. After that all around the pot Navadanyalu were placed that includes Gingelly (Nuvvulu), Black Gram (Minumulu), Green Gram (Pesarlu), Bengal Gram (Sanagalu), Corn (Makkalu), Jonnalu, Rice, Ragulu and Alisanthulu. opposite to the pot place a broom stick is cleaned and a new saree is placed, above this goddess statue is placed. The God Statue is cleaned and a white cloth Composed of turmeric is weared, and a chain wearing on the Neck. besides the God a Mirror, Sugarcane, Regipallu, Gedipallu were placed. Then coconut will be broken in front of the God and the dried cow dung is lightned. The milk boiled in the pot put some rice in that and keep looking until the milk flows out. And the sweet is shred with everyone.

Makar Sankranti 2015

Various Names of Sankranti:

In Tamil Nadu Sankranti is known as Pongal. In Gujarat and Rajasthan Makar Sankranti is known as Uttarayana. In Haryana and Punjab Makar Sankranti is known as Maghi. Makar is a Sanskrit word which literally means Capricorn whereas Sankranti denotes transition. Makar Sankranti marks the end of winter, when the sun moves into the northern hemisphere. Sun transit from Dakshinayana to Uttarayana. Sankranthi is the beginning of Uttarayana Punyakalam  Sankranthi is the season at this time harvest will be completed and all grains will come to home. Makar Sankranti is a biggest harvest festival. The festivities include sweets made of Rice, jaggery, green gram and sesame. The significance of Uttarayana Punyakalam is at the Mahabharata times when Bhishma did astrasanyas waited till this day to depart so Arjuna built  the bed with the arrows. Popular belief is that one who dies on this day gains moksha and has no rebirth.

1 comment :

  1. Makar Sankranti marks the beginning of New Year in Hindu Calender.